Dress Up Leftovers

Another (not so funny) thing happened to me on the way to continuing my last series; my husband was hurt. It was not a life-threatening injury, but one that literally knocked him off of his feet for three months. Unlike many men who malinger, I had to basically hold him down so that he could recover. (He does hit the bed when he has the sniffles, however!) Much went neglected, including this blog.

We will revisit with more antipasti and on to more party foods, but since this is Thanksgiving weekend in the U.S.A., I thought I’d start talking about not only using, but improving, on leftovers.

Ham and turkey, and for some, “Tofurkey” and Quorn “roasts”, were what was on the table last Thursday. My family enjoys another plate like the basic one, but let’s face it, too much is too much! And when the leftovers are small, or chunks, or scraps, you just need something different to do with them.

Here is what I made today:

An easy casserole to update your leftovers!

An easy casserole to update your leftovers!

It is made with leftover ham, mashed potatoes and vegetables, but it can be made with any combination of meat or meat substitutes and vegetables, or just vegetables. Substitute whatever you have that might fit and no one thing or measurement is absolute…this cooking, not rocket science. Gluten free, it can be adjusted to be  vegan.
“Leftover Casserole” just doesn’t sound right to me. How about :

Post-Feast Casserole”?
Pre-heat oven to 350F
1 +cup leftover ham, turkey or meat substitute
1 ½ cups mashed (or other) potatoes [Hash browns, (hash brown casserole),cubed and boiled with green beans, etc.]
½ cup sour cream or vegan sour cream [Do you have dip left over? Use onion, spinach or ranch]
1-2 cups leftover cooked vegetables, [I used broccoli and cauliflower. Green beans, (green bean casserole),Brussels sprouts, spinach,(spinach balls),carrots, etc. Increase the amount if you are only using vegetables]
Gravy,or sauce, optional [Did you make cheese sauce or a sauce for your Tofurkey or Quorm roast? Use what you have left]

Mix the potatoes with the sour cream or dip. Place half in the bottom of the casserole or baking dish. Add a layer of each vegetable you chose to use. If you have gravy or sauce, pour in about a 1/2  cup now. Cover with the rest of the potatoes and bake for approximately 30 minutes.

If you cool this completely and wrap well, it will keep in your freezer for at least 3 months. It will be either a nice break now from the regular leftovers, or a quick, warm, comforting meal on a cold night in the coming months.

I have been waiting to post an easy, very easy, upscale dinner salad recipe, but I think I will add it next, using leftovers as an option.

I hope you will continue with me.

12 thoughts on “Dress Up Leftovers

    1. Tonette Joyce Post author

      Thank you,Tammy; believe it or not, Joe broke his ankle ‘walking for his health”! You are going to make the recipe tonight? What a compliment!
      Blessings to you and yours!

      Reply
      1. Tamara Leigh: The Kitchen Novelist

        Poor Joe 😦 David’s currently out of his running spree because he fell off a ladder and twisted his ankle. But he’s like your Joe–hard to keep down. I was going to make your recipe tonight, but Max pointed out I had steaks that needed grilling while they’re still fresh. So I gave in. But now tomorrow night. Yep, looking forward to putting your recipe to good use 🙂 Blessings, friend ~ Tamara

    1. Tonette Joyce Post author

      Thank you,Charlie;I’m sure you can relate after Annabelle’s injury. He had been out-of-commission since August, but he has recently made such strides that I think the doctor will clear him to return to work when he sees him this Friday.
      We had a great Thanksgiving! XX Back to you!

      Reply
  1. Maria Matthews

    Your leftovers sounded as appetising as the Main Turkey meal itself, as turkey is more readily available near Christmas with us I will have to print the recipe and hold off on the tasting test till then.

    Reply
  2. Tonette Joyce Post author

    Thank you,Maria.I am so sorry that I did not see the notification for your comment. I truly appreciate you coming in and taking the time to comment.I hope you tried some of the leftover recipes and liked them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

