Quick,No-Cut-out Football Cookies/+Vegan version/Lactose free

It’s countdown to Superbowl and if you want a simple, (no electric mixer needed), quick, delicious, ball-shaped cookie that you don’t have to chill, roll and cutout, do I have a recipe for you!

These delicious quick and easy  no-mixer-needed cookies are always a huge hit

These delicious quick and easy no-mixer-needed cookies are always a huge hit

[Cut-out cookie recipes can be found in here the October Archives. Oval or egg-shaped cookie cutters will make a decent substitute for football-shaped cutters.

And although you can have these ready in a short amount of time, they are even better tasting after they have aged a few days, so you can make these ahead of time for Superbowl Sunday, or any time.

The simple recipe below was my mother’s most requested recipe and mine, too. Because it came form an old cookbook of my aunt’s,( that my sister made off with when she was little because she liked to look at the pictures it contained), my mother would give away the recipe….as printed.
I will also give you the little tweaks that make these perfect.

My family makes these in the original round shape for any time of the year. My mother would at times add English, (regular) walnuts. At Christmastime, she made some with Black walnuts and some she iced with peppermint icing, (my sister’s favorite; I like them plain).

I expected to feel a slap from beyond the grave when I relented to teenagers’ pressure and added chocolate chips to the cookies, but no. The cookies were good, but I think it’s overkill. And I experimented with a bit of espresso powder added; they were nice, but I have gone back to plain, and everyone is happy.

Here you go:
Chocolate Drop Cookies
2 squares of unsweetened baking chocolate {I prefer Baker’s (brand) and that is all my mother ever used.
OR you can use 2 ”premelted” baking chocolate that comes in packets
½ cup (one stick) butter or margarine
1 cup of sugar
½ teaspoon baking soda
1 egg
2 cups of all-purpose flour
½ cup milk
1 tsp. vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350F.
Melt the butter or margarine and baking chocolate together, preferably over boiling water.[Make a double boiler out of a metal or ceramic bowl that sits into,(but not all the way down), in a small pan of boiling water], OR melt slowly in a heavy pan over low heat stirring almost constantly. Do not let the butter or margarine turn brown or the chocolate scorch . You can melt these in the microwave but it is preferable for them to be very hot and general directions for melting these in a microwave are to partially melt them then remove and stir to melt completely. (If using the pre-melted chocolate, just melt and heat the butter or margarine completely and add the chocolate after adding the butter/margarine).

Put the sugar in a large mixing bowl. Add the hot butter/margarine and chocolate,(if squares were used and melted); mix well; the sugar will semi-melt; this is good.(Now add the pre-melted chocolate, if that is what you used). Add the milk and vanilla to cool the mixture, then add the egg.(Don’t add the egg first or it will solidify; it will cook in the hot mixture). Sprinkle in the baking soda and mix well, then slowly stir the flour in, about ¼ cup at a time, to keep it from lumping. If it still lumps, try to beat most of them out with your (preferably wooden)spoon. If lumps are very small, don’t be concerned.
(If you wish to add nuts or chips, fold them in now. I suggest that you do not add anything if you want the cookies to be ball-shaped.)
Now, let the dough sit for just a few minutes while you prepare the baking sheets.[Grease them , use baking spray or line them with parchment paper.] Just a minute or two of sitting will allow the flour to absorb the moisture and the dough will become stiff enough to make the cookies.

To make traditionally round cookies: using a teaspoon, pick up half to a full teaspoonful and , using your opposite index finger, push it out, dropping them onto the prepared baking sheets.(Of course your hands were scrubbed before you even started to make the cookies and you probably cleaned them after handling the packages, right?).
Place them about two inches apart as they will spread a bit.
To make football–shaped cookies: use a Tablespoon, fill about half-full and use the side of the spoon to create an oval shape.

Bake for about 12 minutes or until they lose their shine and a finger touched to the top does not leave a mark.
Remove from the pan and cool on a wire rack. When cool, make icing laces on them with  a few quick lines of royal icing, [October Archives; you can use a pastry bag or a plastic sandwich bag with a tiny part of the corner cut off], or you can use ‘cookie icing’ available at most retail grocers.(‘Cookie icing‘ will become firm when dry; do not use gel-type cake decorator icing as these will remain wet and sticky.)

[

[Lactose-free: use margarine and almond/soy, coconut milk.

Vegan version; use margarine or ‘vegan butter’ almond soy or even coconut milk and a favorite vegan egg substitute; I would suggest puréed tofu or “Enger-G Egg Replacer”]

Even plain, these cookies are a nice lunchbox cookie or a gift; they would make an excellent addition if you are a guest at a Superbowl party. They are good with coffee and  excellent  with milk!
I hope you try and enjoy these cookies at any time, any shape!

12 thoughts on “Quick,No-Cut-out Football Cookies/+Vegan version/Lactose free

  1. Tonette Joyce

    Oh, Sorry,Judy, I have been soooo backed-up around here, I missed a lot of email..
    Thanks; they are all gone and I have orders via grandkids to make more before Superbowl Sunday…I wonder if they will ever let me make them round again?LOL!

    Reply
  2. Hotly Spiced

    These cookies are so cute. I absolutely love how you’ve decorated them for the super bowl! These will be a big hit when you present them to your guests during the game xx

    Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce

      Thanks, Charlie,I’ve tended to go overboard on decorating the foot, but these are so easy…and although the cookies are delicious, they are plain-janes otherwise.
      Nice of you to take the time to drop in!

      Reply
  3. Tea with Erika

    They look so good! I’d love to try them. I use a programme to convert American measurements but I couldn’t figure out how much “2 squares of unsweetened baking chocolate” is.

    Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce Post author

      Oh,I am so glad you joined me here,Erika1 I am so looking forward to seeing more of your recipes.
      Baking chocolate comes in One-ounce squares, so that would be two ounces. An ounce = 28.35 grams.
      Does that help?

      Reply
      1. Tonette Joyce Post author

        Thank you for pointing that out,Erika.I need to be more mindful of my readers outside of the USA.I hear from people all over the world; it is wonderful to visit you and everyone around the world…from right here next to my own kitchen!
        I didn’t see where you are on your homepage,Erika; where are you?

Leave a Reply

