Guest Accommodations

Unless you have extra rooms or you are an ’empty nester’, you may be pressed for room when you have someone stay overnight or longer. Consider planning ahead and being creative.
Years ago I had the most darling townhouse. I had planned on finishing the basement and adding a bedroom, as many people in the complex had, but I never got that far. The two bedrooms upstairs were occupied by my husband and me in one and the other by our sons. What I did do was instead of buying a sofa, I put a daybed in the living room. We had several guests stay on it and it came in very handy when my husband broke his ankle which made going upstairs very difficult. It was very handy when I was ill, as I could rest while the kids were nearby. And it was deep and comfortable enough for the boys to nap on when they were little.
When we moved, it was here, twelve-hundred miles away to a bigger place, but no one liked my daybed. The people here refused to sit on it. It didn’t look like a bed, per se. Even with its cover set and some extra sofa-type throw pillows, it just wasn’t something the “Locals” accepted. So I moved some of my book shelves from my ‘library’, moved them into the living room and put the daybed in there. Someone I knew was moving and offered a sofa-bed to me, which I put in the living room. Someone else offered a nice set of bunk beds which I put in one son’s room. The other son decided that he liked the top bunk, so I had an extra bed in his room. When an old friend brought his son and three daughters to visit us, I had more than enough room for them all. I no longer have all that room, the daybed is gone. But I still have the bunk beds and I now have a double bed in the other bedroom, and we have always had a roll-away bed. So although it is usually just my husband and me, we often have our grandson, and sometimes our two granddaughters, stay with us. What we have now, I have plenty of room when my cousin, her husband and their two children come from two states away for Thanksgiving, which is nice.
That is a luxury, I know, but if you don’t have a spare room or two, do consider a sofa bed, a daybed, or a futon that flattens out or some of the other ideas within this posting.
There are air mattresses that I am told are very comfortable and convenient; frankly, I could not get up and down from them any more,(bad knees). I had a group of young people here some years back and even the recliners were taken as sleeping places. (I insisted that fitted sheets be pulled over the chairs before they slept and they really make an acceptable bed.)
Be creative. If there are young people, consider using the floor. With enough extra quilts underneath, it usually works. Young ones like to build ‘houses” or ‘tents’, in living rooms or on the floors of their parent’s room; let them have fun.
If you have camping equipment, pad and sleeping bags work well for this. If you don’t have pads, use quilts.

Find those quilts on sale and be stocked; throw none away when they are a bit worn, you redecorate or change the size of your bed, and that goes for sheets. You can always use them as ‘tents’ or for sofas and chairs. Where do you put them? Under beds, up high in closets, stacked on the floor in closets, in cubby-holes under stairs, piled on a spare bed, or folded and stacked in an empty corner of a bedroom or den, out of the way. You can use one of those extra sheets or thinner bedspreads to cover them, if you don’t have the blanket bags they came in. (If you sew or know someone with a sewing machine, you can straight-stitch a couple of sheets and make “bags” for the blankets…You could do it by hand. You can buy blanket storage bags. If you have room, you can buy a blanket box. (I have a large one, but it holds material for sewing projects that I usually take forever to get done!). Is anyone old enough to remember “Hope Chests”? In some circles they were given to teenage girls in the ‘hope’ for their future home. In it they collected fancy housewares, especially linens, to take with them to their home when they got married. I am sure this practice in the United States has fairly well died-out, since it was a hangover from a girl going into a marriage with a dowry and a trousseau. At any rate, if there is one in your family or you find one at a garage sale, grab it. They were made to fit at the bottom of a bed and can be used as a blanket box. A foot locker will do, too. Fine blanket boxes can be placed in any room and could easily be used as a coffee table, or if padded as mine is, can be as a window seat or a bench.

Some of my quilts are in a wardrobe, some stay stacked on an unused chair in my bedroom. And do have extra pillows. You can put shams on them and leave them in plain sight or even used on a bed sofa as boosters.
There are a number of not only sofas but large chairs out there that open up to beds. I have seen a revival of ‘trundle beds’, small, low beds that roll out from under other beds. These are nice for children to have guests in for ‘sleep-overs’. Some people are putting “Murphy beds” in rec rooms, dens or bedrooms that they usually use for other purposes. Murphy beds are beds that pull down from a wall, they were very common in studio apartments at one time. They are usually hidden behind fold-away doors until needed; sometimes they look like paneling or stand free in a frame that looks like a set of shelves. Some hidden, fold-away beds are build to slowly lower and gently tuck the shelves that usually show underneath, so that the shelves are useful,(they remain upright and won’t dump what is held on them; think “Ferris Wheel”). Some fold away beds are build high, over another bed, to be pulled down when needed;( think “train compartment”).
I have seen antique furniture that look like a dresser, but found that they open to a bed. I guess people have always looked for a place to put guests when they have little space. The modern answer to that are upholstered ‘cubes’ that look like a large ottoman but unfolds to a narrow bed. Very convenient! I have seen what looks like a nice upholstered bench that turns into a single bed, as well.
Some of the newer, lighter, ‘roll-away’ beds now fold very flat and can be stored under another bed, or daybed. Or some that look like a beautiful narrow upholstered or wooden box that will fit up against a wall or behind a piece of furniture.

So, seriously consider where you just might be able to have an extra person or two sleep, or as I did, have a, (reasonably), comfortable place on each floor of your home, be it a daybed, futon, or fold-out sofa/chair or a hidden bed. You never know when you just might get a chance to have a nice visit with someone, or, in keeping with my recent theme, be prepared in an emergency.

14 thoughts on “Guest Accommodations

  1. Hotly Spiced

    I have a day bed and a sofa bed and I would hate to think how many teenagers have slept on them over the years. Like you say, these things certainly come in handy. But I would love a guest room! xx

    Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce Post author

      I SHOULD have two guest rooms now, Charlie, but my grandson is here a great deal and my oldest son just moved back in temporarily, plushis two girls stay a lot.
      My house runneth over, Charlie!
      Thank you for your continual support! I adore your blog.

      Reply
  2. Tamara Leigh: The Kitchen Novelist

    Excellent advice and insight, Tonette! Sofas and sofa cushions on the floor topped with sleeping bags have usually served us well when our teenage boys’ friends stay the night. And–oh!–those tent sleeping quarters our guys and their friends made when they were younger. I miss them 🙂

    Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce Post author

      I think people miss out on family friends and fun they are afraid that their accommodations are not first class. Homes can be made comfortable, if a bit crowded! I have the tent cities up in my place with the grandkids.One day, my house will be perfect!
      Thanks for coming in, Tamara!

      Reply
  3. Ashley @ Wishes and Dishes

    We just bought a house last year and are in the process of making one of our extra bedrooms into a guest room! It’s just sitting there so we might as well have a bed in there so people can stay with us when they come from out of town (we have a lot of family in Italy or in Toronto)

    Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce Post author

      And you might add a futon couch, chair or fold-out ottoman so more can squeeze in.
      Oh you lucky girl! My mother was Italian, but I have no contact with the family my grandparents left behind,although I do have a friend that i am in contact with there.
      Thanks for your input, Ashley.You will be very happy to have a guest room, I am sure!

      Reply
  4. ibdesignsusa

    Great article. Live in a apartment now but we will be buying a house in the next couple of years. We plan on having a guest bedroom because you just never know when you will need one!

    Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce Post author

      Apartments have their places in this world and guest rooms are a luxury. anywhere, as far as I am concerned.That is why I added advice for hiden or double-duty accommodations/beds.I hope you can get a tip or two o fitting a guest or so in , even in your little place. Thank you come coming in today, Kathy!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

