Nontraditional, Easy Fish Tempura/Favorite with Kids!

Friends, this is my version of an easy ‘dry tempura’. Tempura is the term used for batter-fried fish and vegetables; my recipe has the same ingredients, but done in an easy, double-step process: dipped first in liquid, then dipped in dry breading before deep-frying.

I will give my very basic recipe and try it this way, then you can become more adventuresome if you’d like, by adding spices or dried herbs to your breading,
(“Old Bay” seafood seasoning comes to mind, as does paprika, parsley, etc.). This recipe is good for kids and people who do not generally enjoy fish. I like it plain, with a little extra (sea) salt, or you can dip them in many types of flavorings.

This is best with any good white fish, and if you have read any of my previous posts, you know I will foremost suggest cod. Cod is the mildest tasting fish and you can’t go wrong using it in almost any recipe. It is the best choice for anyone who would like to avoid any ‘fishy’ flavor.

 

Fish Tempura, good alone or with a selection of sauces.

Fish Tempura, good alone or with a selection of sauces.

[Shown: approx. half-pound of cod; recipe feeds four with added salad or soup]

Fish Tempura

1 lb. frozen fish filets,[see information in Archives,Feb.2013 “Lent/Easy Baked Fish]
2 Tbs. lemon juice or 1 Tbsp. vinegar {distilled white or rice vinegar

1 cup flour {rice or all-purpose
ยผ cup corn starch
1 Tbsp. baking powder
2 tsp. salt {preferably sea salt

2 egg whites or equivalent of reconstituted dry egg whites
2 tsp. lemon juice or 1 tsp. vinegar
1 Tbsp. water

2+ cups oil for deep frying {peanut or vegetable, not olive oil
Make it hot.

Thaw frozen filets in cool water with lemon juice or vinegar; leave in water.

Mix the dry ingredients well in a shallow bowl; reserve.

Whisk, (with whisk or fork) the egg whites, lemon juice (or vinegar) and water in a shallow bowl.

Cut fish filets into 1-bite or 2- bite-sized pieces, (not more than 1″square; shape does not matter)
Place some of the fish pieces in the wet mixture then into the dry mixture and drop in one layer into hot oil. Turn the fish when lightly browned and drain flat on paper towels.
Serve immediately.

I like these with just a little extra sprinkling of salt; others may like to go ‘Asian’ and use Teriyaki sauce, soy sauce or Thai Sweet Chili sauce. Others may like a honey dip, tartar sauce or cocktail sauce, (which I forgot to add to the picture, and now it is too late, all the fish has been eaten!).

If you keep your fish and egg white mixture very cold and your oil very hot, these should never be oily or greasy, but if you like the “fish ‘n chips” flavor, you can splash them with malt vinegar, rice vinegar,(or really, any vinegar).

These are well served with a salad or steamed vegetables, or soup; I suggest a nice vegetable soup, bean or lentil.[see August Archives, 2013].

This is the last of the Seafood series for now. I have requests for three other ideas, one on oil, one on keeping an emergency supply of food,(with severe weather season approaching, I think it is a good idea), and one on herbs and spices.

I hope all of you enjoy your Spring, Easter or whatever you celebrate and hope to hear from you now or in the future with any questions or comments. Please?

22 thoughts on “Nontraditional, Easy Fish Tempura/Favorite with Kids!

  1. ashley

    Maybe my hubby would actually try cod since it doesn’t have that fishy flavor!! He can’t get past that flavor and smell when it comes to seafood. This looks amazing!! Happy Easter to you!

    Reply
  2. thisismeandfood

    Yum! Those little cod bites are just asking for mushy peas and chips to accompany them! My son loves to make “fish fingers” with me so I will try this version with him soon!

    Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce

      Even I like ‘fish fingers”, (they are “fish sticks” here);, but these are even better liked by kids.Do try it…(you can keep the peas!)
      I hope you and yours have a wonderful Easter, Sinead!

      Reply
  3. rabbitcancook

    Lovely, I will try your batter recipe. All this time my tempura always turn soft after removing from oil , unlike those in the japanese restaurant. Thanks for sharing this.

    Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce

      Mine isn’t a batter; it’s wet, then dry and yes, even these will soften up after a while, which is why I added,”Serve immediately”. Make sure your oil is very hot and lift the fish out with a slotted spoon. Drain completely and quickly on paper towels. I hope you enjoy them!

      Reply
  4. hotlyspiced

    I love tempura but usually have it with vegetables rather than with fish. What a great idea and such a good family meal. Happy Easter Tonette to you and your family xx

    Reply
  5. Sharmishtha

    the people of province of india where I live (west Bengal) are infamous for their absolute addiction to fish, I am the misfit ๐Ÿ™‚

    I don’t eat any fish unless you call prawns fish.

    Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce Post author

      Well, I call prawns ‘seafood’ anyway! Oh, too bad, Sharmishtha; Maybe we should trade places!
      I hope you have a Happy New Year and whatever celebrations go with that!

      Reply
      1. Sharmishtha

        you will love it here if you love sweet water fishes, they are most popular here. people devour their ocean relations too but sweet water ones are more common.

      2. Tonette Joyce Post author

        I can’t say that I like ALL fish,Sharmishtha, but most.I don’t get much freshwater fish these days, but I do like most of them.
        Thank you for checking this out!

Leave a Reply

