Mahi-mahi/Fish with Dirty Rice, Pasta, Potatoes

Judy,” Petit4Chocolatier” asked to see my Mahi-mahi recipe. For those of you who are unfamiliar with it, “Mahi-mahi” means “very strong” in Hawaiian and it is a strong-flavored fish, although I would not say that the flavor is ‘fishy’. Although it does not taste the same, the type of flavor-strength is reminiscent of salmon’s flavor strength.
I will give you my recipe below, but not a picture. I had not be able to purchase Mahi-mahi where I live,(I used to make ‘food runs’ out of town to a bigger city), and I just hadn’t looked lately. When I did find it in frozen filets at the biggest supermarket here, I found that it is priced at $20.00 a pound! That is a bit steep for my budget this year…(I’m planning on winning the lottery next year.)
Below is a way that went over big when I was where I could get nice, fresh Mahi-mahi.
You can make this with any type of fish filets, which is in fact, what I do. I found that Mahi-mahi and broccoli go well together. You may substitute or add cauliflower, California-blend or Italian-style frozen vegetables, instead of cooking fresh.

Mahi-mahi, (again, like salmon) comes in filets, often with a thick skin on one side. If you choose to grill or bake it, leave the skin on; if you want to pan-fry the filets, remove it first. This is done by placing the fish skin-side-down on a flat cutting board or a counter covered with a towel,(so that it will not slip). Take the longest sharp knife you have. Slowly slice between the flesh and the skin. Hold the fish down with your fee hand and continue slicing through the fish. If you are less than confident in being able to judge, place the fish skin-side-up, and knick the corner between the flesh and the skin. Slowly and gently cut the skin away lifting the skin with your free hand. Be very careful so the knife does not slip and you cut yourself.

Fish with ‘Dirty Rice*’
1 lb fish filets (Mahi-mahi or?)
2 Tbsp. regular olive oil, peanut oil or other cooking oil
2 tsp. salt

1 Tbsp. Lemon juice (You can use Balsamic, Malt or other vinegar)
1 ½ Tbsp. butter
½ cup chopped green onions (or other onions, diced)
½ cup minced green peppers
1 ½ tsp. paprika
1 tsp. salt

2 cups prepared rice*[see footnote]

Rinse and dry filets; brown quickly in the oil and salt. [You may add other herbs or spices as you like. See “Lent/Easy Baked Fish” post for ideas.]
Remove the fish and drain the oil from the pan, but do not clean it. Add the butter, melt it and , using a spatula, pick up any bits of stuck fish. Add the lemon juice, onion, peppers, paprika and salt. Cook until the vegetables are translucent and tender. Add the broccoli or mixed vegetables. Fold in the rice and warm thoroughly. Place on platter and place fish over top.

I often make the ‘Dirty Rice*” and omit the mixed vegetables, or place them on the side. It rather depends on the type of fish, how big the pieces or if I have made them another way, or with more herbs and spices.

One way is :

Lemon –Pepper Fish

Fish filets, any type
Lemon juice
Butter
Salt,
Pepper (preferably cracked or course-ground)

Melt butter in a pan,( the amounts of ingredients will vary depending on how much fish you will be cooking; use your best judgment)
add 2 tsp-1 ½ Tbsp (1/2 to 1 lb of fish) lemon juice
cook on med-high until bubbly and the lemon has reduced,(evaporated) somewhat
add the fish; salt and pepper it
cook it quickly until brown underneath and turn quickly. Cook until just done.(Time will vary by thickness of fish. “Done” will be when the flesh is completely opaque).
Remove the fish, keep warm and repeat with the recipe above for ‘Dirty Rice*, but omit lemon juice or vinegar.

* Note: Another twist is to use pasta, potatoes or couscous instead of rice.
I like to use/vegetable couscous or any type of small pasta instead of rice. Vegetable pastas, such as the tomato-carrot one picture above, adds more flavor and nutrition.
It is also tasty and easy to grab a bag of frozen ready-to-cook hash browns
potatoes ,
make your own potato cubes or to grate them and cook them in the
butter/pepper/onion mixture.

fish with pasta

I will leave you with one curious piece of information. Mahi-mahi is also called
“common dolphinfish”; but it is a true fish, not at all related to the animals we normally
call ‘dolphins’. It also has the name of “dorado” .
Unrelatedly, but curiously, the word “mahi” means “fish” in Persian.

17 thoughts on “Mahi-mahi/Fish with Dirty Rice, Pasta, Potatoes

    1. Tonette Joyce

      Charlie, I think “Dirty Rice” is an expression from the Far South of the USA, around the Gulf(of Mexico) Coast. Near New Orleans, it is hotter and spicier. Thank you so much for coming by.

      Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce

      I can’t tell you how few people I know where I live who eat fish at all; none of my sons’ wives will. And the few who do, eat catfish,(shudder!). I try to show that it is easy,(at least, that is the plan!).
      Thank you for so much support,Tamara.

      Reply
      1. Tonette Joyce

        Mahi-mahi isn’t particularly fishy, but it DOES have a strong flavor.
        Again, thank you for visiting.I have gotten very backed-up. I have had some family complications; health and other-wise.

  1. petit4chocolatier

    Tonette, this is my favorite by far!! This looks so tender and delicious. I am making this before the cod. I just priced Mahi Mahi at Publix and am going for it. I am making it with the peanut oil and red onions (I have those ingredients), and everything else you mentioned. So excited. How long cooking in the pan approximately?

    You made my day Tonette!! {{Hugs}}

    Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce

      Thanks again, Judy; When you came in enthusiastic,I had to go for it!
      The time depends on the thickness of your fish.It is best cooked on a higher-medium and browned a bit.Fish will usually lose its transparency quickly.As soon as the middle goes opaque, you are done.
      I am glad you have a good price on Mahi-mahi.Where I live, food is rather high-priced.No one knows why, although I can understand the seafood; (but I was farther away from the ocean in Denver and did better!).

      Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce

      Ashley, if your hubby isn’t opposed to fish for any other reason than ,’fishy taste’ , please try preparing cod in the manner I mention in the first of the series; there should be no ‘fishy’ taste.
      Stick around, there is more to come! Nice of you to stop by!

      Reply
  2. chwilówka przez internet

    After looking over a number of the articles on your website, I honestly appreciate
    your way of writing a blog. I added it to my bookmark
    webpage list and will be checking back in the near future.
    Please check out my web site too and tell me what you
    think.

    Reply
  3. Mercedes

    Great work! This is the type of information that should be shared across the internet.
    Disgrace on Google for now not positioning this post higher!
    Come on over and consult with my site . Thanks =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

