You Can Do It…Breakfasts/Potatoes and Leftovers

To continue with the Breakfast theme I started, (and the uses for Parsley Potatoes from the previous posts), I have found that I can turn nearly any leftover into an omelet, scrambled eggs, or casserole, which is helpful when you have guests staying.

The Parsley Potatoes, or any leftover/pre-cooked potatoes, are a good way to diversify breakfasts. Leftover hash browns, Potatoes O’Brien,(recipe below), baked or mashed potatoes are easily cooked in an egg mixture, with or without added meat or cheese and can be made into breakfast.
All it takes is a little pre-planning to have leftovers in the first place.
Use sausage, bacon or ham, or any leftovers in your refrigerator.
Do you have steak or a roast? Ham or pork roast? Chicken? Whatever the form, if you can chop it, you can add it to eggs and if you have potatoes, all well and good. Pot Roast? Stew? Go ahead and add whatever veggies are left over; if there is gravy, add some as well. Believe me, especially if you have males in for breakfast, they will love it.

Want to wow them? Scramble eggs with spaghetti sauce. Go ahead, add potatoes,or serve with toast.

If it seems daunting, (or you can’t stay over the stove stirring), butter or oil a casserole dish, or pie plate and layer the beaten eggs and fillings,(preferably browning the potatoes first).
If you are not adding meat, or the meats are not very flavorful, please add cheese and/or your favorite sauce…hot pepper, soy, Worcestershire, chili, picante’ ; whatever you like. If you know your spices, (I’ll be talking about spices in the future), add some of what you like and bake until the eggs are set.

Want to go vegan? Fry or bake the potatoes with leftover vegetables, vegetable ragut or other leftover, flavorful dish, with added sauces. Zola’s Zucchini or Italian Baked Tomatoes,[October Archives], work well. (Ovo-vegetarians, these also go well with eggs.)

You can use mashed potatoes to make potato pancakes.

If you are truly unused to cooking and entertaining; let’s start with the basics:

Mashed Potatoes

Wash firm potatoes, [I like to use russets]
Peel and cube (approx. 1 inch squares; no larger. Make them as uniform as possible, except for a very few, which should be a bit smaller)
Place in a large pot; f ill with cold water and add at least 1 Tbsp. salt
Boil just until all the larger pieces are soft enough for a fork to easily slip into them; do not overcook.
Drain and immediately add butter or margarine and a little cream or milk,(almond or rice milk can be used).Mash, preferably with a hand-held mixer, until it is completely smooth.
Add more salt if needed.

Potato Pancakes from Mashed Potatoes

For each cup of mashed potatoes , add:

one egg ,(optional)
1 Tbsp flour (all –purpose or rice flour, if you have it)
1 tsp. paprika
1 tsp. parsley
1 tsp. sautéed onions, chives, scallions, leeks (or 1 tsp. dried chives)

Drop large spoonfuls onto hot, oiled skillet, flattening with the back of the spoon.
Fry until the bottom is browned. Lower the heat, flip gently and fry slowly until the bottom is browned and the insides are semi-firm.

These are also a good side dish.

Potatoes O’Brien

Wash, peel and slice potatoes very thinly; you can use a mandolin slicer, the large or medium side of a grater a food processor or you can use frozen hash browns from your grocery store.
In a large frying pan, brown the potatoes in oil with ¼ cup of diced onions (or scallions), and 2 Tbsp. diced green pepper for every cup of potato. Add salt and pepper. Fry until the potatoes are crispy on one side. Flip and brown until crispy on the other side.(It does not matter if it breaks apart.) Use as they are, or add to eggs or vegetables.

Any questions?

With a little ingenuity you can be a hit with family and friends…and entertain well on a shoestring.

Have fun; entertain and don’t stress out. You can do it!

21 thoughts on “You Can Do It…Breakfasts/Potatoes and Leftovers

    1. Tonette Joyce

      Oh THANKS,(not!)
      I try to give vegan/vegetarian variations as often as I can, as that is one of the ways I have most often asked for help…people who have vegan/vegetarian guests or ‘converts’ in the family and are at a loss. Watch for the ‘pescaterian’ recipes after the New Year.
      Thanks for coming by,(I think! You brought that song back!!!)

      Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce

      Thanks,Judy…an extra chamber opens in your heart for grandchildren…it is incredible! Sometime after the holidays,I’ll show-off my codfish cake recipe using mashed potatoes.
      Nice of you to come by,(and appreciate my kiddos!).

      Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce

      I haven’t met a potato dish I haven’t liked! There will be more on them here,trust me!
      Thanks for taking the time to come by. I hope things are getting ready for Christmas in Ireland;I’m running a bit behind here.

      Reply
      1. Leah

        I swear I was following you before! Your posts have always shown up in my reader but I noticed when I came to comment that the site said I wasn’t following. Must be some kind of fluke? Either way, sorry about that!

  1. Sue Swift/Suz deMello

    Potatoes are so versatile. Did you know that potatoes plus dairy has all the nutrients a human needs? That’s why the potato blight hit Ireland so hard–no one was growing anything else. Families grew potatoes and had a cow and that was all.

    Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce

      Indeed I did,Sue. Also,I have found that celiac disease is common among the Irish, so that is likely another reason the Irish embraced them so totally.
      One reason I started this blog was to help people who were at a loss when it came to cutting back on meat or those who needed to serve others with special diets. My very first real post in July of 2012 has a list of meatless protein combinations…a blog beat constantly teaching one person at a time, (and cut down on the amount of printer ink I was using!)
      Thanks for stooping by on my sadly neglected little blog.

      Reply
      1. Sue Swift/Suz deMello

        Oh, I loooove food! I frequently write about food at my blog also. I love to cook–to me it’s as creative as writing, painting or anything else.

  2. Sue Swift/Suz deMello

    I also want to mention something I found out about omelettes–add shredded or crumbled cheese to the eggs rather than putting them in the middle when you fold it over and serve. Not too much, or the eggs will stick, but a little will make that omelette unbelievably tender.

    Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce Post author

      Oh, yes, cooking is creative! How else can you reach EVERY sense at once? Done right,it is very fulfilling,(!), and unlike writing, you almost always get to see your audience’s reactions!

      Reply
  3. Tonette Joyce Post author

    Who knew you were a cook! You are inspiring me to get back to work here. In this blog. I have put my pride aside, leaving the fancy work out. I found that people are afraid to cook let alone entertain.They don’t know how and think everything has to be all Martha Stewart.
    So, I get down to basics with as much homemade as I think people can handle and give alternative short-cuts if they absolutely can’t handle it,(or find themselves in a bind).
    Personally, I make frittatas, (frittati?), more often than omelets.
    Nice to have you here! I am so pleased!

    Reply
    1. Sue Swift/Suz deMello

      LOL thanks. For me, frittatas are a guest food while I can whack out a one-egg omelette in five minutes–and do just about every morning.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

