Liebster Award!

My first Blogging Award!Well, who knew? Cass @ “foodmyfriend.com” has nominated me for the Liebster Award. It is an award given to blogs which have less than 200 followers, to encourage them and to spark interest. I have found that bloggers have been very helpful and encouraging to me, and I like to try to help others…which is pretty much what my food blog is all about.( I do share a blog with 4 other writers,
fourfoxesonehound@wordpress.com
I am the “Friday Fox”.)
 
So anyway, here goes! I understand that I need to nominate 11 other under-appreciated blogs and ask you to please check them out, because I think they are noteworthy.(Forgive me if I overlooked any of you who truly deserve recognition; I am in the middle of painting walls before the Cousins  to stay at my place  Thanksgiving next week, not to mention all the daily grind and the cooking which is essential! Please come in and we’ll promote you as well as we can!)
Then, I am to give 11 facts about myself, answer 11 questions sent to me and make up 11 questions for the next group.
So, Here goes, “Dearest”(Which is what Liebster means in German, in this case.)
 
Thank you, Cass!
 
 Random Facts About Me:
#1. Next month my husband and I will be celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary.
#2.  I  grew up in the Washington, DC area.
#3 . I have lived in Idaho, Colorado and now live in Kentucky.
#4. I have , however, never been out of the country.
#5. I have a very varied sense of taste in literature, music and movies but
#6. I am still considered by most people as pretty ‘square’
#7. I am a devoted Grandma
#8. I am a published poet, I’ve written song lyrics, a play and short stories, (and not      working hard enough on getting those published)
#9. I have a real soft spot for animals
#10.I am determined to cut back on the clutter!
#11. I love to take nice pictures.(I need to post those, too)
 
The Questions Sent to Me:

    1. If you were stuck on a desert island, what food would you request? COLA!
  • Dark, milk or white chocolate? Milk,(I make  pretty good candy, btw)
  • Would you rather cuddle or eat a bunny? Cuddle!
  • What is your ‘go to’ quick dinner recipe? Herb –seared chicken breasts with cream sauce(remind me to post that)
  • Are you a team player or a lone ranger? I’m a bit of a Lone Ranger, but not by my choice
  • Where are you traveling to next? I hope to visit relatives in Pennsylvania; it’s been a very , very long time.
  • What are you doing for Christmas? The usual, baking away, decorating my heart out and being with family
  • Have you ever won anything? Not a lot, but I took a pretty prestigious songwriting award many moons ago
  • What is your ideal night out? Night out?LOL! I think I’ve forgotten!
  • If you won $1,000,000, what would you do? Buy houses and cars for family members and help  others as I could
  • What is your favourite charity? Humane Societies(Animal) and the  homeless

Those I Nominate:
 
 
The Perky Poppy Seed
Enchanted Seashells
The Healthy Flavor
Inspire and Indulge
Customs of Christmas
petit4chocolatier
albertocook
wishesanddishes
Tamara\LeighTheKitchenNovelist
Write By Bethany
eclecticlamb
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  Where is the farthest you have even been from where you were born?
Do you live now where your family lived?

  • Do you like to live in the city or the country?
  •  Do you prefer to visit the city or the country?
  • In what ways do you consider yourself the most creative?(Name as many ways as you’d like.)
  • What do you see yourself doing in 5 years?
  • What would you like to try that you have not done before?
  • Is there any place in particular that you have never seen that you would like to visit ?
  • What would you change about the world if you had one quick wish?
  • Rank these(1,2,3,4):books, music, sports, movies
  • What are your 3 favorite holidays?(Whatever you celebrate)

OK! I will be looking for everyone’s posts and please EVERYONE, let me know what you think.

 

27 thoughts on “Liebster Award!

  1. The Healthy Flavor

    Thank you so much Tonette for the nomination! That’s so kind of you! I appreciate it. I have several nominations that I’m trying to gather together in one large post…it’s challenging with a 1 yr old baby to do! Thanks again and congrats to you as well 🙂

    Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce Post author

      I can understand, as I sat here last night in my paint-splattered clothes, knowing I had better not put this award off because it would get lost in the shuffle! I do hope you take some time when you can and spread the support around.Thank you for YOUR support of ME. I truly appreciate it.

      Reply
  2. thisismeandfood

    Reblogged this on Thisismeandfood's Blog and commented:
    Answering Tonette’s Questions 🙂
    Where is the farthest you have ever been from where you were born? Chicago Airport on a stopover to Pittsburgh, PA when visiting relations. I haven’t travelled much, New York 3 times, Italy on Honeymoon and Canary Islands on Sun Holidays, my best holiday to date has been a Mediterranean Cruise last year with my parents, brother, husband and son.

    Do you live now where your family lived? I live in the same country, different county. I live in the City my mother grew up in. My parents still live where I grew up.

    Do you like to live in the city or the country? Country, I live in a city, I go to visit my parents as often as I can in the country, by the sea! I miss the seaside so much and wish my children would have the same freedom I had growing up with the beaches and countryside nearby. We have the best of both worlds though, I go home as often as I can with my children.

    Do you prefer to visit the city or the country? I like city breaks, beach holidays 🙂

    In what ways do you consider yourself the most creative?(Name as many ways as you’d like.)
    I love to cook,I try to bake, I’m learning to sew, I knit to relax, I used to arrange flowers and make bridal bouquets for a living, I’m re-learning to draw

    What do you see yourself doing in 5 years?
    I would like to go back to school when both of my children are in full time education and get the degree I should have when I left school at 16, just need to figure out what I want to do!!

    What would you like to try that you have not done before?
    When my injured foot is back to full working order, I would really like to take a dance class. Wonder if I can convince my husband to join me!

    Is there any place in particular that you have never seen that you would like to visit ?
    I would like to visit Australia, China, Hawaii, Las Vegas, Brazil, Caribbean, Africa

    What would you change about the world if you had one quick wish?
    Cure Cancer

    Rank these(1,2,3,4):books, music, sports, movies –
    1. Music, 2. Books, 3. Movies, 4. Sports

    What are your 3 favorite holidays?(Whatever you celebrate),
    Christmas, My Birthday, Easter

    Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce Post author

      YOU , also , have relatives in PA? Sounds like a number of us do…small world!
      I do hope you post these on your own blog so people will know more about you, and that , when you have time, spread the award to others.I love the support we have been able to show each other.Thank you, always!

      Reply
  3. petit4chocolatier

    Congratulations Tonette!! And congratulations on 30 years of marriage!!

    Thank you very much for the award! You are so kind : )
    You made my day!!

    Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce Post author

      Thank you! I say to people,”If we make it to December, we’ll be married 30 years!” Have fun with the award and spread the support; I appreciate all that you have shown to me.

      Reply
  4. Leah

    Congratulations Tonette! I’m so happy for you and flattered by your nomination. I loved learning more about you in this post – congrats as well on being a published poet; that’s very impressive!

    Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce Post author

      Thank you,Leah;now, if I get on the ball, I can probably get more published.Family has taken first priority…and now I have the blogs. I hope you spread the nominations around ; we’ll have even more fun with more friends.Thanks for being a ‘constant’ for me.

      Reply
  5. The Perky Poppy Seed

    Congratulations, Tonette:) I didn’t know you had relatives in PA:) I am from PA:) 30 years:) That is fantastic:) You should have a blog just about that!! Now to answer your questions:)

    Where is the farthest you have even been from where you were born?
    The farthest I have ever been from where I was born is in Samsun, Turkey.

    Do you live now where your family lived?
    I do not live where my family lived. They live in PA; I live in FL.

    Do you like to live in the city or the country?
    I like to live in the city; but the older I get the better the country looks:)

    Do you prefer to visit the city or the country?
    I prefer visiting cities:) but it seems that most of the time when I visiting my friends and family they are in the country:)… so I would have to say, both:)

    In what ways do you consider yourself the most creative?(Name as many ways as you’d like.)
    I see my self as most creative in the kitchen. Also, in the way that I perceive things:)

    What do you see yourself doing in 5 years?
    I see myself doing a lot of baking with a little Yorkie or two waiting patiently in the kitchen entrance for me to drop something:) And teaching cooking & baking classes:)

    What would you like to try that you have not done before?
    I would like to try to really let go and let God 🙂

    Is there any place in particular that you have never seen that you would like to visit ?
    I would love to visit Croatia’s coast. I have relatives that live in Croatia.

    What would you change about the world if you had one quick wish?
    If I had one quick wish to change the world it would be…. a magical wand to wave that would produce good healthy meals for everyone everywhere:) I think that would make people a lot nicer.. a good meal and friends are made:) Who knows what would be next.. world peace:)

    Rank these(1,2,3,4):books, music, sports, movies
    Books 1, Movies (Especially old movies:) 2, Sports 3, Music 4

    What are your 3 favorite holidays?(Whatever you celebrate)
    My three favorite holidays are Thanksgiving, Rosh Hashanna, Christmas

    Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce Post author

      Oh, I hope you post these on YOUR blog and spread the support around! Again, I thank you for always being there for me.
      We have so much in common!
      My mother grew yo in small towns near Wilkes-Barre and that’s where I need to head.
      I have a lot of online friends in FL, from Pensacola to Dade Co. I have a number of in-laws down around Tampa.
      AND my husband’s father is Croatian and Slovenian! I adored his Croatian grandmother and that side of the family!
      Isn’t it grand to get to know each other better?!

      Reply
      1. The Perky Poppy Seed

        Tonette:) that is funny about Wilkes-Barre.. I used to live in State College and in Milton PA.:) The world seems smaller and smaller everyday:) In fact, when I was in Turkey, there was a fellow there from Beaver, which was the next town over from Beaver Falls, where I went to high school… small world, small world. Now the internet makes it even smaller:) Have a great day:) Thank you:)

  6. Epicurean Eva

    Congrats on the award! Fantastic!

    Where is the farthest you have even been from where you were born? Italy

    Do you live now where your family lived? No. I grew up in California and have lived in NY, CT, TX, MD, London, Switzerland…currently in Colorado.

    Do you like to live in the city or the country? I love both. I’d love a country house and an apartment in the city!

    Do you prefer to visit the city or the country? Both

    In what ways do you consider yourself the most creative? Cooking, writing, event planning.

    What do you see yourself doing in 5 years? Hopefully I will have just sold my company and my husband and will be floating around Europe on our yacht (a girl can dream, right).

    What would you like to try that you have not done before? Learn another language.

    Is there any place in particular that you have never seen that you would like to visit ? Barcalona, Spain.

    What would you change about the world if you had one quick wish? Peace and compassion.

    What are your 3 favorite holidays? Christmas, Thanksgiving, 4th of July

    Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce Post author

      I don;t know if I told you that I lived in CO for 11 years; both of my sons were born at St.Anthony’s in Denver. I truly miss it. I miss the day trips to the mountains.My father-in-law was born in Pueblo, so there is extended family there and I had my cousin move there,too.My oldest son was in N.CA. fighting wildfires a few years ago and fell back in love with the west; he tried to move his family there but they were really not ready, so they are back her.He is determined to go back, though!

      Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce Post author

      Thanks,Candy and that is the idea.I kind of had to grab people in a rush; if you’ve seen my posts on what a mess I got myself into here…painting, family coming to visit…aaaaggghhh! Do check them out and give them the opportunity to experience your unique situation! You have much to offer!

      Reply
  7. hotlyspiced

    Congrats on your award, Tonette. And congrats on your approaching 30th wedding anniversary. That’s a great milestone. I’d love to see how you decorate for Christmas xx

    Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce Post author

      I usually decorate too much! We’ll see; with all the moving of things form one storage to another,I may not be able to find everything!
      Thanks , and congrats to you for taking it, too.I saw you had just had the torch passed to you!

      Reply
    1. Tonette Joyce Post author

      Thanks,Charlie, we had a WONDERFUL day , even the weather was incredibly mild for this time of year.
      You have a standing invitation to Thanksgiving at my house any time you want to travel !

      Reply

Leave a Reply

