Zucchini and Vegan One-Bowl

Zucchini

My son brought a huge zucchini from his garden to me this summer .He said, “You’ve never seen a zucchini this big!”, but yes, I had.
When I was younger, we had a friend in the family who kept a part of his small farm going. He would bring tomatoes, string beans, squashes, massive zucchini, all sorts of produce and eggs,farm-fresh and dozens of them. We’d be overwhelmed sometimes.
At one such time, we had recently moved and need to have telephones installed. For those of you who are young, (and/or not in the U.S.A.), phones then were only land-lines and all the work had to be done by The Telephone Company. It was actually illegal to run a wire or fix a phone. We were at their mercy, but my mother didn’t mind this time, because a young, bright, good-looking Italian fellow was there doing a great deal of wiring all day.
My mother had a good time with the fellow, who must have been about 30 years old. I was home, but in and out of the room. I was about 19 or 20 and shy… and had no designs on the man and neither did my mother, but that isn’t how it looked…and he could hear her other-wise old-fashioned ideas.
After some time she did her best to get him to take some of the produce, which he wasn’t sure he should take, but he finally did. Just before he left, she offered some of the eggs to him. That was too much, no, no, he couldn’t. But she pressed him and then asked, “Are you married?” You could see the worst fears fly across his face, “I-I-I’m actually living with someone”, he stammered. My mother, who had no clue what she had done to him, just looked at him. I plucked-up every ounce of courage I had and said, “Oh, she’s not trying to match-make; she just wants to know if you have someone to cook it for you”.
“YES! Oh, YES! I DO!”, he cried in such a relieved manner, I had to turn to laugh!
My mother was mortified that I would say such a thing! After all, what had she said, what had she done? Oh, boy! My mother never realized how things sounded to others.
But out of all that zucchini came the recipe below, which she only gave to one other person, but I will share with you now. I made a lot this Summer, but only one container-full remains in the freezer and I am going to try to keep my hands off of it until the cousins come.

Zola’s Zucchini

Because my mother never measured unless she was baking, (and not always then, either;,the measurements are approximate.

2 TBSP. olive oil (pref. Extra Virgin)
1/2 cup minced onion
3 cloves of garlic,(1 TBSP dried-minced or granules, not garlic salt)
1 bay leaf
2 tsp. dried basil
1 tsp. marjoram
1 TBSP. dried parsley
½ tsp. salt
1+ c. crushed tomatoes

Sauté’ all until onions are tender; then add:

3 c. diced zucchini
1 c. water

Cook on medium heat until zucchini is thoroughly tender. Slowly add more water or salt or herbs if needed. Remove the bay leaf before serving, as it is bitter to bite into and some people are truly shocked to find a leaf in their food. My mother jokingly once told a shocked young guest that a leaf must have blown in from an open window. The kid was unfamiliar with bay leaves and a horrified look came over his face. My mother had to quickly explain.

I like this served with Angel Hair pasta; it would also be good with small pasta such as tubetini, risi or orzo.

Zucchini One-Bowl (Vegan meal)

One recipe Zola’s Zucchini

Add:

½-1 cup Chickpeas (Garbanzo beans)

½ cup cooked rice, barley or small pasta ,slightly undercooked, (or ‘al dente’)

Simmer together for 20 minutes until the flavors blend. Serve.

{The beans and rice, barley or pasta make a complete protein)

10 thoughts on “Zucchini and Vegan One-Bowl

  1. Bam's Kitchen

    Thanks for stopping by so that I could find your website. We used to always joke hat we could use some of our zucchini’s from the garden as floatational devices they get so big. I would much rather try your delicious one pot meal instead. Take care, BAM

    Reply
    1. tonettejoyce Post author

      Thank you, Bam.I am taking the simpler road to teach and give confidence, but I will be sharing my Italian side’s recipes as well. It is good to meet you.
      Tonette

      Reply

Leave a Reply

